No one enters a marriage, hoping it will end in divorce. We are often asked how do you know it is time to consider divorcing your spouse? While deciding to end your marriage is a very personal and serious decision not to be taken lightly, below is a list of subtle signs your marriage may be in trouble.
- Lack of respect for your partner
- Infidelity (physical and/or emotional)
- Staying together solely for the sake of the kids
- Avoiding your partner
- Significantly different financial goals
- Changed life goals
- Lack of intimacy
What to Do If You are Ready to File for Divorce in Oklahoma
Once you have reached a point, "when sorry is not enough," you can reclaim your security and happiness after a divorce. In Oklahoma, you do not have to make divorce a contentious one. You can get a no- fault divorce that states you and your spouse have irreconcilable differences. The advantage to this type of divorce is that you can spare your family the pain of a lengthy divorce proceeding that allows you to start the healing process. If you do not have minor children, an uncontested divorce in Oklahoma can be complete in 10 days. If you have minor children, you have to wait 90 days and take a parenting class prior to an uncontested divorce being finalized. If conflict is unavoidable, working with a family law attorney that will be your voice of reason and help dissolve the marriage as smoothly as possible will be your best strategic move. Note, contested divorces with or without children take longer depending on the complexity of the issues being litigated.
Below are Four Things Not to Do If You Are Contemplating Divorce
- Do not try to get back at your spouse.
- Do not send nasty text messages, emails, or lewd voicemails.
- Do not behave badly.
- Do not talk negatively about your spouse to your children.
How Long Do I Need to Have Lived In Oklahoma Before Filing For Divorce
One of the first steps in the process for filing for divorce involves determining whether you meet the residency requirements. In order to file for divorce in Oklahoma, at least one spouse must have lived in the county where you want to file for at least 30 days and in the state for at least six months.
At Hayes Legal Solutions, PLLC in Oklahoma City, we never want you to feel alone in the divorce process. We understand what a painful and difficult decision you have had to make and we will be your advocate for getting a divorce settlement that protects you and your family.